Our preceptor, Debbie, was nice enough to give Liz and I Friday off. So I am finally sitting down with my coffee watching the Today Show…something I can say I am a professional at doing.

My week at the rehab clinic was amazing. I could really see myself being a dietitian in a setting like that. It was definitely a mix of community and clinical. We read labs, looked at electrocardiograms as the patients exercised, performed individual nutrition consults, taught a nutrition lecture and most importantly, socialized with them. They loved hearing about us, especially Liz who is from Illinois. Of course when they heard I was from here, the first question out of their mouth. “Oh, where did you go to high school?” It’s definitely a New Orleans thing. The patients were very sad to see us go but they will soon have more interns to socialize with!

Monday, Wednesday, Friday: patients in the Phase 2 part of rehab are there for 30 minute lecture about nutrition, health or exercise. This week was nutrition, specifically protein. And 60 minutes of supervised exercise with heart monitors attached at all times. Diabetes patients take blood sugar before and after and no one is dismissed until the nurse gives the okay for blood pressure and sugar.
We had many emergencies this week with blood sugar. Note: gum does not have sugar in it. Why do people think this?! I witnessed a nurse (a while back) give a patient a piece of orbit gum for a hypoglycemic episode. The sugar alcohols may have a tiny effect on blood sugar, but clearly she didn’t know what she was doing. Cardiac rehab wasn’t messing around. We emptied sugar packets into apple juice! How’s that for a sweet drink?!

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday: patients from Phase 3 (those who completed rehab) are invited to join for a monthly fee. They come back during “open hours” on these days. Since the exercise physiologist, nurse, and dietitian must be in the exercise room, the hours for open are limited to 2 each day. Which is plenty of time to get a few steps in on the treadmill. This is the best group!! The ladies go to lunch once a month at exactly 11am when the restaurant opens, cake is made for the first Tuesday of each month for the birthdays, they come in church clothes and don’t break a sweat. Oh the list goes on. Debbie had to control the birthday cakes because they were bringing one on each persons actual birthday which turns out to be all the time.

They do not sweat. This is a requirement for them. Most of them have lunch dates immediately following. The makeup looks exactly the same as when they arrived too. I never thought I would hear the words “Oh, you look so beautiful today” coming from the nurse to a patient who was there to exercise. I never got a picture of the exercise room but here is the set up Liz and I made for our vegetarian presentation.

20120928-082220.jpg

There was also a sign in the room I thought was really cool. “Tough times never last. Tough people do.” For the next two weeks I’m at Ochsner Baptist Foodservice. Report time 9AM. Perfect time for me to get some long runs in. Also, breakfast and lunch served daily. Count me in!!

Recipe alert! I made this delicious Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Coconut Bread yesterday during an hour of sheer boredom. My amateur food critics, Lauren, Erin and Roger have given the stamp of deliciousness approval. Some slight changes made: waaayyyyyyy more chocolate chips, add coconut flakes, make 1 cup whole wheat flour, take out sour cream. Easy peasy. Oh and the batter makes about 1 large loaf and 1 small loaf. Cue the plethora of pictures!

20120928-084938.jpg

20120928-084943.jpg

20120928-084952.jpg

20120928-084958.jpg

20120928-085002.jpg

20120928-085008.jpg

Some other exciting things I have been up to lately. In picture form of course.

Delicious salad from Reginellis. I do believe its called Green Salad with a citrus vinaigrette.

20120928-085157.jpg

Lemon Blueberry muffin from the Crescent City Farmers Market. Nom Nom.

20120928-085316.jpg

Coach on a Stick. No other comment needed.

20120928-085349.jpg

Speed workout Thursday was once again a great success. Props to Erin and Lauren for running so fast in this fall humid weather!

Until next time! Eat Smart and Move More. And Geaux Tigers and Saints!

