Tags

, ,

After 2 full weeks at Ochsner Baptist, I am proud to say I have survived. Foodservice is no joke. It’s not just being the “lunch lady.” It’s nutritional analysis of every recipe, quality control, food safety, more food safety, customer satisfaction, patient tray satisfaction, inventory and more.

Here is a wrap up of this weeks activities.

Liz and I made Whole Wheat Pasta Salad to promote whole grains and fresh vegetables as part of breast cancer prevention and awareness. We made a recipe for 150 samples. And since the city was under a boil water advisory from the second we started cooking, we opted to skin the vegetables so we didn’t need to wash them. We also got lucky and had pre-washed broccoli and cauliflower!

20121010-073858.jpg

20121010-073912.jpg

We ran out of pasta salad in 2 hours of lunch. Not bad considering people were definitely turning noses up when they saw “whole wheat.” We mainly had 2 reviews. The group that tried it, even the skeptics, loved it. The group that didn’t try it automatically thought it was gross and wanted nothing to do with it. And they weren’t afraid to tell us. People are so rude in this world. WHO PASSES UP FREE SAMPLES OF FOOD?! I do not.

One woman made sure to tell us she would NEVER eat that again and how nasty it was. Others told us how gross it was and never even tried it. So incredibly rude.

But of course we had people compliment us and tell us how great it was. I cannot forget them. The majority of tasters loved it and that’s what it’s all about.

Onto the good eats.

20121010-074501.jpg

20121010-074513.jpg

20121010-212635.jpg

20121010-212640.jpg20121011-180528.jpg

20121011-180610.jpg

Today we got to set up for a catering event. Doctors are spoiled! Spinach and artichoke dip, fresh vegetable sauté, and prime rib. Nom! Lulu and Paul were great to work with and I had such a fun two weeks. Tomorrow I’m headed to Tulane downtown for a renal class and presentations from the interns who just finished clinical rotations. Can’t believe it’s been 5 weeks already!!

Next week I report to University Hospital for one week of oncology and HIV. I’m looking forward to it, but I know it’s going to be quite different than what I have already experienced.

Side note: I forgot to update y’all on my running this past weekend. I was suppose to have my nice long run in order to start tapering down, but I came down with some nasty bug that kept me from doing anything strenuous. Monday, Tuesday were great runs though and today I ran 4 miles with negative splits. That means I ran faster each mile. I started at half marathon goal pace and ended 20 seconds faster than the 1st mile. Hooray! I’m still trying to figure out when that long run will be. Maybe Saturday morning before the LSU tailgating begins!

Until next time! Eat Smart and Move More. And Geaux Tigers! (No saints game this weekend)

