Tags

, , ,

These next 2 weeks are filled with more foodservice. Although I was not thrilled, I was pleasantly surprised by today. I went in thinking I would have to perfect my steam line skills even more. But nope! Our preceptor made sure we knew that our projects are her projects too. We actually get to do real world dietitian things!!

First up for today: help count meal equivalents for the USDA. Cynthia, the St. Charles School Board dietitian, is applying for $.06 extra per meal per child from the USDA. And they make it nice and difficult to get those extra pennies. We spent 4 hours analyzing menus and ingredients to make sure the high schoolers had exactly 1 cup of vegetables, 1 cup of fruit, 2 oz of whole grains, and 2 ounces of meat/meat alternative for lunch. And it’s harder than it sounds. 1 cup of vegetables does not mean 1 cup of salad. Romaine and spinach count for half the amount served. So if the student grabs 1 cup of romaine, they only count it as 1/2 cup serving. So adding up 1/2 with 1/4 and 1/8 over and over again is very tedious. And even if the exact romaine salad is served on 2 streamlines, it must be documented as different items and separately inputted into the program.

We got to observe lunch at Destrehan High School today. It was extremely weird being back in a place that doesn’t allow chewing gum or open water bottles. How quickly I forgot those rules when I went to college!

Tonight I am headed back to Dat Dog with some Tulane girlies!

I will definitely be updating on the eventful LSU game and tailgate. I just don’t know where to start on that blog post….I will leave this picture as a preview.

20121105-175100.jpg

This week includes more menu analysis and research on other school foodservice locations. We are also heading back to Shell for employee fitness assessments on Wednesday.

Until next time! Eat Smart and Move More. And Geaux Saints!!

