Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It has recently come to my attention that I have been lying to my readers. And by lying, I mean withholding information. It, of course, was not intentional because there have been many important topics to cover lately. This post consists of the things I forgot to mention.

1. The day I ran my half marathon, I went with my aunts and mom to eat before the paint and drink party. We went to the cutest restaurant on the north shore. The Rusty Pelican made for one delicious after race dinner. The special for the day included a huge grilled shrimp and avocado salad with house made sun dried tomato vinaigrette. Talk about delectable. I ate the entire thing. I also had a very large appetite that day directly related to running so onion rings were also included on the table.

20121111-122639.jpg

20121111-122648.jpg

2. Sarah just celebrated her 23rd birthday so we joined her in a wonderful meal at Juan’s Flying Burrito. Once again I got the special. Which is always a great idea when out to eat. I indulged in the pork quesadilla with black beans, grilled onions and sweet potatoes on a chipotle tortilla with satsuma glaze. That’s a mouth full…literally. Look how big that sucker was! I didn’t even eat half.

20121111-123041.jpg

3. Flat Stanley made an appearance at our tailgate this weekend. We were bad influences and allowed him to drink underage. But who doesn’t in LA?!

Doing a keg stand. His name has now been changed to Frat Stanley.

20121111-130546.jpg
Cracking open some Sam Adams. Yes that is a bottle opener iPhone case. Priorities people!!

20121111-130557.jpg
Frat Stanley hanging with the cripple!

20121111-130605.jpg

4. Roger’s senior design project is coming along…or I think it is because last time I saw it did not look like this! 3 more weeks and it should be doing its thing…hopefully!

20121111-130859.jpg

5. Friday night we decided to join Roger’s friend in a Friday night pre game Pluckers dinner. I ate chili before hand because I don’t do wings. But I did have fried pickles and I even tried a fried mushroom.

20121111-131035.jpg

20121111-131041.jpg

20121111-131047.jpg

6. Creole mustard honey chicken and roasted Brussel sprouts were in the menu a few days ago. I cut up boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I like dark meat) into bite size pieces and marinated them in a few squirts of honey and creole mustard. I pan fried them until done. For the Brussels sprouts I sliced them in half and sprinkled with salt, pepper and garlic powder and a generous portion of olive oil. Roast in 450 degree oven for 45 ish minutes. Yummy!

20121111-131512.jpg

20121111-131522.jpg

7. Can you believe Thanksgiving is only a week and a half away? One week from today I get to see my wonderful aunts, cousins and Granny for our annual thanksgiving cooking day. Once again I plan to make Sheet Borek, a Turkish stuffed bread with eggplant and tomato goodies. I also have a recipe up my sleeve that I cannot wait to share with you. But it must wait because its still in the works. Of course I have to put my own twist on it. I’ll give you a hint: dessert and blackberries.

And thanksgiving morning I will be running in the 5 mile Turkey Trot in City Park. And after stuffing my face with food, I’m heading to Memphis!!! BBQ and Williams Sonoma watch out! The crazies are coming.

