Well my week is almost complete. Just a lunch time observation on Wednesday and I will be finished until next Monday!

What have I been up to? Well last week started off with the Louisiana dietetic association conference in Lafayette. The food left something to be desired but you can’t beat $2.75 Abitas at the downtown bar!

20130416-073405.jpg

I loved seeing my LSU girls there too. Can’t wait to see them again on Friday for Theresa’s wedding!

20130416-073446.jpg

I also got a new toy! Roger and I went to the Home and Garden show a few weeks back where we entered to win almost everything. Luck would have it that we won the “Rain Mate.” Roger even said he had a good feeling about winning this at the booth! Our new friend Corey came to drop it off and show us how it works. It’s an air filter/freshener all in one. And it sounds like the ocean. So glad I won this because I would never pay $150 for this contraption.

20130416-073840.jpg

After all the week’s excitement, I had to settle down for my RD exam study course that was so graciously scheduled for 8-5 Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A few redeeming qualities: Lambeth house food (pics below), Tulane girls for support, events to look forward to afterwards.

Friday’s food! Breakfast (no pic) was eggs, bacon, grits, and the biggest bowl of fresh fruit I’ve ever seen. Lunch included salad with sun dried tomato vinaigrette, dill crusted salon, rare roast beef, garlic bread and blackberry cobbler for dessert. Warm chocolate chip cookies finished off the day for our afternoon snack.

20130416-074132.jpg

Saturday’s food! Breakfast was eggs, bacon, grits, fresh fruit and a wonderful sweet cheese crepe with kiwi glaze and lingonberry sauce. Amazing! Lunch was fresh salad with raspberry vinaigrette, shrimp tortellini, garlic bread and huge eclair for dessert. Snicker doodle cookies for an afternoon snack!

20130416-074614.jpg

20130416-074626.jpg

Sunday’s food! Breakfast was eggs, bacon, biscuit, fresh fruit and one LARGE cup of coffee after unforeseen morning events. Lunch included fresh salad with sun dried tomato vinaigrette, roasted sweet potatoes, eggs sardou (poached eggs over creamed spinach and artichoke hearts with truffle scented hollandaise sauce), roasted duck (yep..duck!), and lemon yum yum cake for dessert.

20130416-075022.jpg

20130416-075033.jpg

And here is the dreaded 7am, soaking wet picture proof. Rain boots have officially seen better days. The water was so deep, it flooded into the boots. The rain was coming down so hard my legs were dripping and I rang the extra water off my shorts in the elevator. It also hailed on me as I got off the interstate going 30mph. But it did turn into a beautiful day!

20130416-080216.jpg

This weekend Roger and I are going to TWO weddings and a couples shower. And next week I’m going to Slidell for my diabetes rotation at Ochsner. Upcoming events will definitely be keeping my busy!

Until next time! Eat Smart and Move More.

